Media Effects on Our Generation

There’s nothing better than watching your favorite movie with your favorite soda, sitting in your favorite pajama pants and texting your friends about the latest drama on The Jersey Shore. But how does this all relate to you? Well let’s add some things up, your favorite movie was pumped relentlessly all over the world with advertisements and alluring trailers, your favorite soda is drank by celebrities in the commercials that convince you it’s delicious (even though those celebs probably don’t even eat), your pajama pants you saw in a magazine spread for a celebrity’s pajama party and Jersey Shore is self explanatory. Whatever we see on TV or the computer, hear on the radio, read in the paper we must go out and buy. There’s nothing easier than just using your senses to spend all your money.

Gabe Saporta of Cobra Starship wearing friend and label owner Pete Wentz's clothing line Clandestine Industries

I am a victim of all of the above, I have

about a trillion band husband’s under the Fueled By Ramen record label, if Ryland Blackinton loves X-drink and his favorite movie is X chances are I’ll probably check them out. If Pete Wentz tells me to go out and buy so and so’s new album, I’ll definitely give them a listen, hell he has a clothing line Clandestine that he has all his friends and employees wear (I have a majority of that line, trust me, my closet weeps every time something new comes out.) It’s impossible not to be swayed by your idols because they set the current trends. Lady Gaga wears the most outrageous outfits and other artists copy her, her music is featured on the hit show Glee, she’s all over the TV and radio, the internet and on stage. You can’t escape her and if she wants you to buy her music, chances are – you will.

Travie wearing Clandestine Industries

You want what you want, your eyes are bigger than your wallet and you don’t want to be unhappy right? What if I told you Barack Obama went to this specific restaurant every night and he swore by their Shrimp Scampi, would you consider checking it out? Michelle Obama wears affordable clothing to promote her image of the All American Woman who understands all classes of the country. It’s a smart move, relating to people who can’t afford her lifestyle. Hell not many can. What most people don’t realize is that celebrities can’t afford half the things they wear, hold, use, eat etc they’re given to them as shameless promotion. But why do celebs care, the get free stuff!

It’s easy to decide to do something because someone else does it. Why be individualistic when it’s safer to just follow the pack.

I tend to do things based on what I see or what looks most appealing, I’m not saying I’m a pack leader and setting new trends all the time. I mean quite the contrary, think about all the things I’ve said up above. If Fall Out Boy tells me to go buy something I might just do it. I’m a sucker for band related things, that’s one of my main vices.

Like the commercials where they get celebrities to use their products because they know people want what the stars have. If you watch music videos you can Almost Always see product placement, like bands watching or recording the show through a Nokia phone or Christina Aguilera’s Not Myself Tonight where she plugs her own perfume (I thought that was incredibly tacky). Buy Buy Buy Buy Buy Buy!

Above Fall Out Boy’s video for ‘Thnks Fr Th Mmrs’ has product placement from Nokia and TAG body spray.

Leave a comment